A Little Personal

I’ve been beyond busy this weekend and have neglected my blog! Instead of commenting on what I’m doing or detailing the politics of my building, I thought I’d be a bit reflective based somewhat on a post on another excellent blog.

1) What was I doing 10 years ago?

In 1998 I finished college and began my student-teaching. I coached three basketball teams while performing my internship, so I had many late nights and early mornings but I made it. I was fortunate to have a mentor teacher whose style matched my own. We got along famously, and I had a fantastic introduction to the classroom. Plus, he introduced me to my favorite barbecue place ever! That’s a bonus.

2) What are 5 things on my to-do list for today:

First, I need to finish my reading for tomorrow’s novel discussions. We are finishing Cry, The Beloved Country and starting Frankenstein and A Gathering of Old Men.

Then, I’m taking my wife out to dinner. Third, I’m going to watch the episode of Battlestar Galactica I recorded on Friday.

Next, I’ll play with our new golden lab puppy. Lastly, I’m going to prepare my bag for my walk to school tomorrow. I’ve lost 26 pounds since January and am aiming for 10 more by June 1, which would bring me under the 200 barrier for the first time in a few years.

3) Snacks I enjoy:

I love nachos, apples, Chex Mix, and pretzels.

4) Things I would do if I were a billionaire:

I would pay off all my debt, get a newer home, travel the world each summer, and set up my family for life. I’d probably not take any crap from any principal ever again, and buy whatever I want to teach to my students.

5) Three of my bad habits:

I tend to get a bit sedentary at times. I also don’t suffer fools easily, and I have to be well-prepared before doing anything. I could probably stand to reduce my structured approach to things.

6) 5 places I have lived:

Colorado, Washington, California, Germany, and Virginia.

7) 5 jobs I have had:

Meat Room Cleaner, Dorm Manager, Movie Theater Manager, Catering Host, and Pizza Guy

8 ) 3 Hobbies of Mine:

Playing Basketball, Reading, and Watching Movies

9) 3 Famous People I’ve Met:

Geena Davis, Robin Williams, and Kiefer Sutherland

10) Three Things I Could Eat Every Day:

Pizza, Mexican Food, and Chinese Food

5 thoughts on “A Little Personal

  1. mrschili

    Meat room cleaner? Eeeeew!

    Hey, have you ever read This I Believe? It’s a collection of essays about values and beliefs written by all sorts of people. Anyway, one of my favorites – and one I use all the time in classes – is “Be Cool to the Pizza Dude.” It’s about one woman’s four principles of mindful living, using the pizza delivery guy as a metaphor for humanity. Your old job made me think of it…

    How far is your walk to school?

    Reply
  2. drpezz Post author

    Sounds like a good book. I’ll look for it.

    My walk is about 1 and 1/2 miles, not too far and mostly downhill. Regardless, it’s gorgeous to watch the sun rise over the mountains early in the morning. My students have taken up the habit of honking at me as they drive past me, which does make me jump on occasion, but it’s a good walk all the same.

    That meat room job convinced me that I would not be a manual laborer but to use my mind as my tool in whatever profession I chose. Good decision. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Pingback: The Blog Revolution On Hold | So You Want To Teach?

Leave a comment