Meme: Passion Quilt

The Repairman tagged me with this meme, and I’ve been quite slow to respond but here is mine.

THE RULES:

Post a picture or make/take/create your own that captures what YOU are most passionate for kids to learn about.

Give your picture a short title.

Title your blog post “Meme: Passion Quilt.”

Link back to this blog entry.

Include links to 5 (or more) folks in your professional learning network.

Walden Pond

I feel my job as a teacher is to teach my students to become self-reliant, inquisitive, critical thinking, and reflective citizens so that they may blaze their own trails. Thus, Thoreau’s Walden Pond seems appropriate, especially with such a vividly gorgeous reflection upon the water.

I think I’ll tag three people to see what they think: Ryan, Mimi, EHT, Betty, and Miss A.

8 thoughts on “Meme: Passion Quilt

  1. mrschili

    I’ve done this, and I LOVED what I learned about why I teach. I enjoy going around to others’ reflections (no pun intended) and seeing what makes my friends and colleagues tick…

    Reply
  2. drpezz Post author

    I really liked yours (the hands on the world were great), and I thought it was an interesting reflective exercise. I tend to come back to independence when asked about my teaching; plus, a little American Literature brought into the discussion (my picture in this case) makes me happy, too. 🙂

    Reply
  3. missprofe

    A very inspirational response to the Passion Quilt meme.

    I remember visiting Walden Pond as a fifth grader during the annual American history field trip to Boston. Little did I know that I would be reading “Walden” six years later as a high school junior! Stop by and check out my contribution to the Passion Quilt meme. Repairman tagged me as well.

    Reply
  4. elementaryhistoryteacher

    Thank you for thinking of me. I’ll try to get to this by the end of the week. Hmmm….I really have to narrow it down to one thing? 🙂 You know me—–I’m all over the place since there’s so much I want to share, but I’ll try.

    Reply
  5. drpezz Post author

    Thanks! I’d love to visit Walden Pond, though I wonder if Emerson and Thoreau would approve. They always spoke/wrote about blazing your own trail and not following others. Maybe if I didn’t follow the established trail…

    Reply

Leave a comment