Only One Parent Is Needed

That’s right. Only one parent needs to complain to entice an entire school district to remove dictionaries from schools. Nope, this isn’t a Fark.com news item (yet as far as I know). This is an entire school district removing a specific edition of dictionaries because the term “oral sex” is in them.

How ridiculous is this?

I know someone will probably mention that maybe elementary kids are too young for these dictionaries, but I remember looking up worse terms than this as a kid and not even understanding the definitions! Besides, the internet provides pictures, so I’m thinking the dictionary is safer.

Sometimes I just think people are looking for something to do.

Update: I just saw the article on Fark. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Only One Parent Is Needed

  1. Clix

    You know when an unfamiliar word pops into your head, and you know you’ve seen or heard it someplace, but you can’t think where? I had that happen in ninth grade. It was one of THOSE words.

    Dictionaries are wonderful things. Dictionaries with THOSE words in them are life-savers!

    Reply
    1. drpezz Post author

      I just about fell out of my chair laughing at your reply, Clix! 🙂

      Like I said in my post, I couldn’t even begin to understand some of those definitions as a kid. The process felt cyclical since I had to keep looking up one word after another until I ended back where I started.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

