Game 3: Reverse Taboo

Using taboo cards from the actual game like the one pictured here, I divide my class into three teams and have them group together. Once in the groups I begin the game, but not by using the actual game rules.

I read the first word on the card, which in the normal game is a word that cannot be said when trying to get a player to guess the pink word, and I give the team about 10 seconds to guess the pink word. For example, with the card here I would say, “pouch,” and the students quickly confer and give me a guess. The first word I hear is the guess.

If the team gets it right, I award them five points. If they answer incorrectly, I read the second word (in this case it’s “hop”) to the next group. If the second group answers correctly, the team gets four points. If wrong, the third team gets a guess with the third word (in this case it’s “animal”) for three points. The points decrease with each additional clue from 5 to 4 to 3 to 2 to 1. I continue through the five words until a team gets the word correct or no one answers correctly.

Once that card is used I put it away and allow the next team to start, and I repeat the process. It’s a blast and really gets the kids thinking and connecting information.

I have created my own cards using literature too. However, this sometimes requires a few extra word clues. I either play the game like I did above, or I (more likely) have the students play among themselves in groups using the traditional Taboo rules where the students cannot say the words below the pink word.

For The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (what the students need to guess), I put the words Huck, Tom, Jim, Mississippi River, Pap, Miss Watson, Widow Douglas, King, Duke, and Mark Twain. The students then have to get their teammates to guess the novel title using other words and phrases. It takes a while to make the cards, but it’s fun. I’ve also had students create their own and used them with the other classes.

Obviously, this game can be adapted in a number of ways which is part of its appeal. I use it every year, and every years my students enjoy it.

14 thoughts on “Game 3: Reverse Taboo

  1. college

    Howdy! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.
    Any suggestions?

    Reply
  2. Pigalle Christian Louboutin

    Does your website have a contact page? I’m having a tough time
    locating it but, I’d like to send you an e-mail.
    I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be
    interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.\

    Reply
  3. Chaquetas Timberland

    Hi, I do believe this is a great blog. I stumbledupon it 😉
    I’m going to return once again since i have saved as a favorite
    it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be
    rich and continue to guide other people.

    Reply
  4. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mjMzGhwCYDo

    Image sensors and detectors are available with
    this camera for higher quality photos. Because cameras
    are so small, the flash is usually very close to the
    lens. The camera is unable to handle sharper
    images, having higher contrast index and plus the users
    will also experience some chromatic aberrations fault.

    Reply
  5. internetaguru.lv

    Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the pictures on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s
    the blog. Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

    Reply
  6. Kristan

    Hi! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone!
    Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to
    all your posts! Keep up the great work!

    Reply
  7. Cedrick Kuza

    I visitgo to seepay a visitpay a quick visit everydaydailyeach dayday-to-dayevery day somea few websitessitesweb sitesweb pagesblogs and blogswebsitesinformation sitessites to read articlespostsarticles or reviewscontent, butexcepthowever this blogweblogwebpagewebsiteweb site providesoffersgivespresents qualityfeature based articlespostscontentwriting.

    Reply

Leave a comment