Open House

I’m not sure what purpose Open House serves besides having a short PR session. Parents want to talk about their kids, and they aren’t learning much about their kids’ classes or progress. Maybe it’s different for elementary or middle school teachers, but I don’t see much point in high school Open House nights. I’d rather have an extra day of conferences.

My classes are off to a great start. I’m actually surprised how excited they are to learn something new each day. 🙂

I had a fun lesson today where I showed the Blues Traveler video for “Runaround” and had the kids count and list the allusions to The Wizard of Oz. It was a fun way to teach allusions, and nothing gets the students’ attention like cartoons or music videos.

Leave a Reply

