Goals for the Year

As part of our new evaluation system, we have to set student growth and instructional goals (everyone in Washington State does). I’ve been debating what I should do, what my focus should be, and I have chatted with numerous colleagues.

Growth

I think I’m going to try and create reading and writing assessments for every novel unit I teach. The standards will be constant throughout the year, but the content will change. I’ll track my students’ progress and provide opportunities for the students to assess their own progress and set individual goals.

Thus, my plan is two-pronged: assessments for every unit and a process for students to track and assess their progress. 

I’m feeling ambitious with this but excited. 🙂

Leave a Reply

