Meetings, Meetings, and a Little Planning

Today was the culmination of a week of meetings, and how did we celebrate this? With another meeting!

All in all, though, they weren’t that bad, and I led two of the meetings. It’s rare that it happens, but three people actually said “thank you,” which I appreciated. I’ve had a few students who would make a point of saying “thanks” before leaving the classroom, and I never forget those students and moments. A word of thanks seems so unusual these days. Sad for that, but happiness from today’s appreciative words. Complaining is so easy, but why is a “thank you” seemingly so hard?

While I was working a few students stopped by to chat briefly. They had gotten their schedules and were walking the halls to map out their future daily travels; I think they strategize how to maximize their route, so they can socialize during passing time. Anyway, it was nice to see them and good of them to want to stop by for a minute or two.

Kids get a bad rap too often. 99% of my interactions and experiences with students are positive, and I have to remember not to let the 1% dominate my thoughts, but it’s natural, I guess. My thoughts will drift to what could have been done differently any time something doesn’t go to plan rather than also reflecting on what went well to reinforce that behavior.

Can you tell I’m ready for classes to start?

P.S. The second meeting I ran finished early, the only one today to do so. Awesome!

2 thoughts on “Meetings, Meetings, and a Little Planning

  1. rhoyetRho

    I had a pleasant surprise as I taught my 9th graders how to use opening adjectives to make their sentences more interesting. We were having a good old time with some imaginative sentences and the little thing said, “Hey, I’m going to like this class-we’re actually learning something.” Hope I can keep that spirit going.

    Reply
    1. drpezz Post author

      Isn’t that awesome?! I love it.

      We have a program where upperclassmen lead tours of the school for the freshmen, and I overheard one of my students from last year tell her group, “Make sure you take Doc’s classes because he actually teaches you useful stuff.”

      It wasn’t the most articulate summation of our year together, but it warmed my heart nevertheless.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

