Standardized Tests, the SAT, and the ACT

Washington State is #1 in the U.S. in SAT scores in states where at least 50% of the students take it, and my state is #7 in ACT scores where at least 25% of the students take it. However, the feds are telling my state we don’t accomplish enough unless we tie the state test to our evaluations. All this despite a poll showing that Americans are tired of standardized test scores being used; plus, most Americans have no idea what the Common Core even is despite states being forced to double down on new standards and new tests.

This was the topic of conversation during a get-together today, and a general feeling of frustration seems to dominate every conversation dealing with evaluation, test scores, or student achievement.

However, in the blessed sanctum of my classroom, all is right with the world. I am about half-way finished decorating my walls, and I am feeling ready for the first day of school: copies to come and students to arrive.

One thing I love about teaching is that I can close my door and create a safe haven for students and a place of enjoyment for me. Teachers really do have quite a bit of control despite all that is going wrong with education. We can create the environment and atmosphere of our rooms, and no one can take that from us. I close my door, design engaging lessons, and make learning fun. No day is the same as the one before, and I control that.

Teaching is a great gig. 🙂

Leave a Reply

