Closer to the First Day of School

Today I spent about 30 minutes on the phone with another teacher discussing the best way to present information to a large group of teachers. I think we came up with a good plan, but I do have a maxim in which I steadfastly believe and observe its truth each year: teachers are the worst students.

Teachers are accustomed to having control, doing things their way, leading the meeting, deciding what is and what is not important, and when they are on the receiving end of a learning session it becomes readily apparent they often wish to be the providers of the learning. Nevertheless, we came up with a plan that I think will work while maintaining engagement.

I also texted and e-mailed back and forth with a couple new teachers about curriculum mapping and lesson designs for the beginning of the school year. This lasted–off and on–about 90 minutes this afternoon.

Tomorrow, I will be going to my classroom to begin setting up my room, and then I’m going to design a presentation before planning my wall decorations and resources. I’m a bit of a planner and I’m frequently teased about my linear organization methods, so I’m sure there will be a few grins and giggles if anyone else is working at the school while I’m planning.

But, first and foremost, I have to hook up my mini-stereo. I have to have my tunes while I work. 🙂

One thought on “Closer to the First Day of School

Leave a Reply

