The Online Calendar

I maintain a website for all of my classes with additional links to help pages; however, the most useful page I created is the online calendar, and I spent an hour yesterday updating that calendar. It’s a simple but time consuming process because all of the dates must be changed from last year’s school calendar to this year’s school calendar.

This calendar has become my favorite online resource that I created.

  • Parents use it to see what their kids are doing in class and what they should be doing at home.
  • Students use the calendar to see what is upcoming or what was missed.
  • Administrators use it because it’s essentially my plan book.
  • Other teachers follow my lessons and unit progressions during the year.

Plus, I can include downloads, extra videos, and more for my students to peruse.

At the end of each year I print the calendar and keep it for the next year. I examine what went well, what did not, and what I can do to improve my lesson sequences, units, and assessments.

Web pages and online resources are expected of teachers by administrators, parents, and students, yet teachers are frequently not provided time during the school day to create, maintain, or update these tools. Although my website does require time each day and week to keep it up-to-date, it’s worth the time because it becomes a first contact point prior to people contacting me about assignments and activities. Since I started the website, my phone messages and e-mails have decreased significantly because I don’t have to answer every question; parents and students get their information from the calendar most of the time.

10 thoughts on “The Online Calendar

  1. Clickety Keys (@clix)

    Doc, how do you feel about posting plans that may change as you go through the term and get new ideas and reflect on the unique needs of a particular group of students? How do you feel about making changes to what you’d already posted?

    Reply
    1. drpezz Post author

      I tend to post my plan one week at a time and then update the plan daily. It’s rare that I know exactly what will happen more than a few days out. I have long-term goals and maps of where I want to go, but the daily plan changes too quickly to cement much. What the kids need, what they can do, what they mastered, and more determine the days’ activities.

      Is this what you mean?

      Reply
      1. Clickety Keys (@clix)

        Oh, okay! Yeah, from the blog entry I thought you meant you posted all of your plans for the entire term. I was like … woah. That’s super ballsy. 😄

        What you explained in your response seems a good deal more manageable!

  2. drpezz Post author

    I guess I could have cleaned that up.

    I meant that I changed all of the dates on the template to reflect this year’s calendar. So far, everything is blank right now. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Cassandra Snider

    Doc, I am fairly new to the online calendar/lesson plan thing. I really want to do it this year, but I am looking for some models. do you have a link to share so I can see what yours looks like or how you organize it? If so, that would be really helpful, as I am a visual learner.

    Reply
    1. drpezz Post author

      Hi Cassandra,

      Would you mind sending me an e-mail address, and I can send you some screenshots of my site?

      Also, Google Drive has some great templates for websites. I am considering switching to a Google Drive site.

      Reply
  4. Martha

    Could you also send me some screenshots of your site? Just forward me the one you sent to Cassandra, please! I don’t want you to “Drop everything and work on MY problem” ; p

    Just fyi — I’m a first-year teacher in Ashland, Oregon. During my student teaching, I used a blog and students could scroll back through each day’s entries to find hw, readings, etc. but maybe a calendar would be better.

    Thanks!

    Martha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

