Another Book Bites the Dust

I posted a brief about the books I’ve been reading recently and thought I’d update my list with a couple additions.

I finished Fragment by Warren Fahy and have to admit that the fast-paced action interrupted by some scientific theories captivated me, but then Fahy went where I feared the book might go. I enjoyed finishing the novel–and I don’t mind the ending preparing for a sequel–but an element was added (a creature I feared might appear) that disappointed me a bit. Still, I could give the book 2.5 or 3 stars out of 5.

This weekend I read The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and I really enjoyed it. It’s one of those books that kept me wanting to read the next page and then the next episode and then the next chapter. One of my students recommended I read the book and then my wife and a friend read the series, so I decided to try it out–well worth the time. I just started Catching Fire, the second book in the trilogy, and I’m hoping the second matches the intensity of the first.

Hope your reading is going well too!

[P.S. I have no idea why I keep using allusions in my post titles; I just seem to be in the mood for it.]

One thought on “Another Book Bites the Dust

  1. Jordan

    I had to read The Hunger Games for one of my English Education classes, and I got hooked! I bought Catching Fire as soon as I finished The Hunger Games (even though, as a rule, I refuse to read hardcover books), and I got Mockingjay the day it came out and stayed up all night reading it.

    I just finished putting together a unit on 1984 that incorporates The Hunger Games. I can’t wait for my students to read it (and then read 1984!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

