A Post of a Different Color

Normally, I only post about education issues or lessons I use in my classroom; however, I do like to do other things outside of school. I do have a sort of a life unconnected to students.

I set a goal for myself this year to read at least 30 minutes each day–not school reading but pleasure reading. So far, I have accomplished this goal. Here are the books I have read since the beginning of the school year (and, yes, I do like bubble gum reads to chew on and spit out):

I have quite the stack of books by my bed right now, but I’m currently reading Fragment by Warren Fahy. This novel is about a remote island ignored by humanity which is home to an ecosystem which has followed its own evolutionary path. So far I’ve enjoyed the scientific lectures, the action, and the feelings while reading which remind of reading Jurassic Park before I saw the film.

Have you read any of these? What are you reading?

6 thoughts on “A Post of a Different Color

  1. Jim Van Pelt

    Let me see: on my nightstand is Scott Westerfield’s LEVIATHON, S.M. Sterlings THE PROTECTOR’S WAR, Jay Lake’s THE SPECIFIC GRAVITY OF GRIEF, and a new text book, THE PRACTICE OF CREATIVE WRITING by Heather Sellers. I also have Connie Willis’s two-volume book BLACKOUT and ALL CLEAR in the bullpen.

    Reply
      1. Jim Van Pelt

        I did read THE GIRL WITH A DRAGON TATTOO this summer. I liked it less than a lot of folks. Too many details about corruption in the Swedish economic markets and shoddy economic reporting, and, as a writer, I get annoyed when the main character is an obvious representative of the author, and as that representative gets to sleep with every attractive woman in the book.

        The girl with the tattoo was an interesting creation, though.

  2. drpezz Post author

    The books got better later. It took me a while to get into the first one, and the first 100 pages of the second were somewhat slow, but then it really picked up.

    No worries, though. My wife stopped reading them too. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Another Book Bites the Dust « The Doc Is In

Leave a Reply

