Teacher Salaries, Unions, and The Pezz Principle

I think I should create a new humorous law like Godwin’s Law.

My law would be called the Pezz Principle which would read something like this: “As an online discussion lengthens, the probability that the union is blamed–no matter the original issue–reaches one.”

Or how about this one for the Pezz Principle: “As an online discussion lengthens, the probability that teachers will be declared overpaid–no matter the original issue–reaches one.”

Maybe we could adapt these principles to include how teachers get “summers off”, don’t have “real jobs”, or don’t live in the “real world”. I think the Pezz Principle has potential.

On a serious note, I do worry about the perceptions the public has of teachers, especially public school teachers. I have had trouble putting my concern into words based on the number of articles and discussion boards centering on teacher salaries and declaring teachers need pay cuts or benefit cuts, but then I heard a phrasing that helped me formulate my thoughts.

People once saw someone with a solid government job which was better than their jobs and said to themselves, “I need to get one of those.”

Now people see someone with a solid government job which is better than their jobs and say to themselves “He needs a pay cut.”

Instead of people wanting to improve their situations, too many people appear to want to bring others down to their level. Solid government jobs–like teachers–now seem to be symbols of corruption instead of signs of middle class strength.

Has the prosperous and comfortable suburban dream of Leave It To Beaver become the nightmarish, low-income expectation of Roseanne?

4 thoughts on “Teacher Salaries, Unions, and The Pezz Principle

  1. A Phillie Teacher

    It’s all scapegoating.

    Only a few years ago I was the object of pity because as a teacher, I made diddly salary and probably had to find alternate work in the summer.

    Now, without any change in occupation, I am a lazy, overpaid fat cat. This too shall pass.

    Reply
  2. Mrs T

    Obviously, anyone that thinks that teachers are over paid have never been one. A coworker was telling me recently about her brother in law who makes close to $200,000.00 a year. He works for our local electric company which is highly unionized and he sits in front of a computer controlling a grid. He did not go to college but worked there since he graduated high school and worked his way up. I admire that he was able to this and I am proud to live in a country where people have the opportunity to work hard and be rewarded for it. HOWEVER I will not ever make that kind of money as a teacher and I am ok with that – just don’t ever tell me that at under 50,000 a year, I am over paid. I have almost as much in student loans as I make in a year Teachers work a full days hours and then go home and work a few more. We work on weekends and in the summers and we spend countless dollars out of our pockets for our classroom and on our students. I am so tired of hear politicians (from our President down)talk about bad teachers, how we are over paid. Obviously, no one goes into teaching for the money. We are paid in so many other ways, a student’s face lighting up when they finally connect, tears of joy at reaching a milestone, the look of pride when a kid who was been labeled a failure for years meets with success and so much more. But, I wouldn’t go into a senators office and try and make changes without any experience and I resent them doing the same to us

    Reply

Leave a Reply

