Teaching Fahrenheit 451

I just thought I’d throw out into cyberspace what I like to do when teaching Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451.

  1. First, we read Bradbury’s “The Pedestrian” and talk about Bradbury’s views.
  2. I begin the next few days by sharing a number of statistics about television and media in general. Each day I provide 5-8 stats or statements by researchers about the effects of technology, television, and media on people. Then, I have the students compose a reaction which kickstarts a daily discussion. We do this for 3-4 days.
  3. Each of these 3-4 days I show a clip from I Love Lucy, Alfred Hitchcock Presents, The Honeymooners, and Leave It To Beaver to see what types of shows Bradbury may have seen on TV.
  4. I share the article “Hell Is Other I-Pods” with the students. First, we pull out the thesis statement, identify the evidence provided, and other essay elements. Then, the students discuss the article as part of a Socratic Seminar.
  5. I also shared this linked article this year. This interview with a neuroscientist fascinated my students.
  6. All the while I spread out the reading of Bradbury’s novel.
  7. Lastly, I show the students interviews with Ray Bradbury from his website.

My students told me this was their favorite unit of the year. Maybe it was all of the technology and TV use. :)

2 thoughts on “Teaching Fahrenheit 451

    1. drpezz Post author

      I really enjoy this unit, and my students still talk about it. I think it’s an excellent lens for looking at our history and our world. Wish I had taken your class. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

