A Union Ain’t Perfect But…

I know unions have their shortcomings and I know some unions have been agents of stasis, but I see more positives than negatives, especially in my local. Here is a quick brainstorming list of why I approve of my union (state and local):

  • My local uses interest-based bargaining, so both sides win something and no enemies are created.
  • I don’t believe teachers are worse today than teachers 30 years ago; thus, my union protects me from baseless attacks.
  • I don’t have the advantages of private schools and charter schools, and my union advocates for me.
  • My local union has no problem pointing out that society has changed greatly, which creates many of today’s challenges.
  • My union has stopped ridiculous legislation that could put excellent teachers at risk.
  • I know how much levy equalization helps my students, and my union fights for it.
  • My union fights to have the state fully fund education (still working on this one).
  • Bad administrators don’t get rid of bad teachers, and my union points this out.
  • Research shows time and again that relying on standardized testing is not a good backbone for education, and the union presents this repeatedly.
  • My union protects my pay, working conditions, and benefits.
  • Great teachers, not others in the system, have the greatest impact on student learning, and my union knows this.
  • My union points out what I need as a classroom teacher to be successful.

Ok, ok. I know unions aren’t perfect, but I do know that in a time when budgets are cut and teachers are attacked daily, my union is fighting for me.

Now, we just need to avoid making too many concessions. You hear me WEA?

Leave a Reply

