Casual Reading

When students ask me what I do outside of school, I tell them that “I read Shakespeare and study the dictionary.” Of course, they believe me until I tell them I’m just kidding.

However, I do throw the books I read up on the book shelves in my classroom for them to read. I go through reading phases, but science fiction dominates my stacks. Ben Bova, Arthur C. Clarke, Isaac Asimov, Peter F. Hamilton, and James F. David among others rest on the shelves waiting for a student to wake them up.

Recently, I’ve been drawn to mysteries and adventure stories. Here are a few of the writers I’ve sampled in the last few years:

I wonder what my next series of authors will be. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Casual Reading

  1. Ryan

    Based on what you’ve got, I recommend that you look at China Mieville’s Bas Lag texts, starting with Perdido Street Station, Jack Vance’s Tales of a Dying Earth books, or else Gene Wolfes Book of the New Sun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

