Embarassing Moment

During lunch the other day, we shared embarrassing moments. Mine is embarrassing, but not in the traditional prat-fall or Freudian slip sorta way.

I had given an assignment to my students, and they set themselves to work. The classroom was full of discussion, movement, and writing while I answered e-mails and read a series of memos from the front office.

Now, a pertinent detail to note is that I had barely slept the night before because of a long drive to a school across the state, and I was frankly exhausted. After a 90 minute night’s sleep and a long staff meeting to start the day, I felt the weariness begin to creep into my eyes as the computer screen began to blur as I rested my head on my chin and continued to read.

Suddenly, my head dropped with my chin banging into my chest waking me. I looked at the clock on my computer and realized ten minutes had passed. I quickly glanced up at the room of students, and no one noticed!

Either I create the greatest assignments, or I am almost useless in the classroom. At least least that’s how I summed up the story for the lunch bunch. ๐Ÿ™‚

6 thoughts on “Embarassing Moment

  1. Mrs. Chili

    I contend that my main job – as both a teacher AND a parent- is to teach my kids to get along without me. It seems as though, at least that day, you accomplished that!

    Now go take a nap!

    Reply
  2. Angela

    wow! I have almost fallen asleep before, but not completely. I would definately take it as a compliment because if you were a bad teacher, the kids would have gone bezerk with you asleep!

    Reply
  3. drpezz Post author

    I only hope the assignment focused the class. If they knew I was asleep, who knows what would have happened! hahahahahahaha! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I got lucky here.

    Reply
  4. Angela Powell

    “Either I create the greatest assignments, or I am almost useless in the classroom.” HAH! Love that.

    A third possibility: you have established routines and expectations that the students adhere to even in your sleep. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

