Teachers Teaching Teachers

I’m a firm believer in teachers helping their own, and I sure wish our professional development days were much the same. Having said that and being a new department head, I figure I have to walk the walk.

This year we have had three department meetings where we have taught one another with the following sessions:

  • Socratic Seminars in the Classroom,
  • the Thesis Statement and multiple levels of depth,
  • Best Practices for teaching To Kill A Mockingbird, and
  • the Summary Paragraph.

We have also started a year-long conversation regarding our department’s philosophy about vocabulary.

On Monday we have another meeting where we will look at the students with failing grades to see what is the major cause (which may allow us to help one another with some interventions), and then another teacher and I will share what we learned at a standards-based grading workshop we attended. When I put together the hand-out for the session on grading, I’ll post the major points in another post.

No matter how the standards-based grading session goes, I think The Science Goddess and The Repairman will be proud of me for starting the conversation.

5 thoughts on “Teachers Teaching Teachers

  1. Betty

    I always preferred inservice sessions led by teachers. Working together to solve problems and voice concerns helps everyone. I also learned how to conduct a Socratic Seminar from another teacher in our building, and my students loved it. It sounds like you are doing a great job!

    Reply
  2. drpezz Post author

    Thanks for the vote of confidence. I’m hoping all goes well, and I must admit that these have been the first meetings I haven’t minded attending. Biased, I know, but I prefer to learn during the meetings rather than be read to. 🙂

    Reply
  3. jtspencer

    Last year, they gave me an entire semester to teach technology integration on our Thursday in-service meetings. As a result, each teacher had a portfolio, a blog, a list of strategies, etc. Two of the five teachers went to a full tech-integrated curriculum. The focus was student centered and based upon learning and collaboration (rather than hearing about information). The feedback from the teachers was real positive.

    This year, the admin told us we couldn’t do it, because having differentiated instruction among teachers prevented us from “being on the same page” and so uniformity won out over effectiveness.

    Reply
  4. drpezz Post author

    A scripted curriculum would be a deal breaker for me. I’d start looking for a job in another district. How can anyone think differentiated instruction isn’t a positive for students (and teachers)?!

    Reply
  5. drpezz Post author

    A scripted curriculum would be a deal breaker for me. I’d start looking for a job in another district. How can anyone think differentiated instruction isn’t a positive for students (and teachers)?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

