First Day of Class

I received a couple e-mails about how I start my classes each year. Last semester I started with the following activities, which I wrote about in January. It worked like a charm.

On the first day we have lots of comings and goings because of schedule changes, so I start with an easy activity and a game. I have the students take the first ten minutes to write down any questions they have about me or the class on 2″ by 2″ pieces of paper. They can ask anything they want and do not put their names on the slips of paper. I don’t have to answer a question, but it’s rare to get an inappropriate question. The kids drop their slips of paper into my Mariners cap and away we go.

I answer every appropriate question, even if it’s a silly one because this is how we get to know one another. I always hated the list of rules (I don’t have any rules in my classroom–never needed them) and the reading of the syllabus on the first day, and this allows me to answer their questions, making their interests the focus from day one. It’s their class after all.

This takes about 30 minutes, and then I give them some word puzzles to complete in groups for the ever-requested extra credit. It’s only five points, but they think it’s a billion and will do anything for the points. This ends the period.

I’ve found that the more the kids feel they are in control of the first day, the better it goes. I’ve played games, done the traditional first day, started working, and more, but this lesson (above) has worked the best. The class relaxes and they really open up right away.

4 thoughts on “First Day of Class

  1. Pingback: What a Week « Edumacation

  2. Pingback: First Day of School: The 2009 Edition « The Doc Is In

  3. Melissa

    I used this question-and-answer activity with my students this year and it worked fairly well. I got some unexpected and very good questions, which was pleasing. Unfortunately I did not get very many questions total – most were the same things; “Is there a lot of homework?” being the main one. I’m not sure why my students had so few questions in comparison to yours.

    Reply
  4. drpezz Post author

    I can’t say why you didn’t get the volume, but I also have a letter of introduction alongside this activity; this way, I’m asking about them and they seem to open up a bit as well.

    However, I’ve done this activity without the letter and they did ask enough that we needed about 30 minutes of Q & A.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

