Movie Suggestions

I love using film clips or outside of class movies to enrich my students’ learning experiences, and the kids respond enthusiastically when I do use the cinema to enhance units. Any suggestions?

I have the following novels to teach this semester:

  • To Kill A Mockingbird,
  • Frankenstein,
  • Fahrenheit 451,
  • A Gathering of Old Men, and
  • Beowulf.

I will show the film versions for the first two novels, but I’d love some other ideas. I do have some initial notions, but I’d like to see what I can do to broaden my film clip selections.

Also, anybody have any good comics alluding to any of these novels?

3 thoughts on “Movie Suggestions

  1. mrschili

    Oooh! I LOVE teaching Frankenstein!

    There’s a good remake of the film – MUCH better than anything else I’ve seen – put out by Hallmark Entertainment. It’s the only movie I’ve yet encountered that takes on the question of the Creature’s humanity. Really, I can’t recommend it highly enough.

    Let me think about the others for a bit; I’m sure there are a couple of good films to show alongside TKaM, but they’re not coming to me right now…

    Reply
  2. mzzteacher

    My just turned 12 year old son finished reading To Kill a Mockingbird, which I think is pretty impressive for a 6th grader. He told me that it’s one of his favorite books!

    Reply
  3. drpezz Post author

    It is an excellent novel, and the film is one of the few cinematic adaptations I will fully show in class. My students really engage with the book, and I enjoy watching them get angry, excited, upset, and outraged as they read it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

