Embracing my Inner Geek

I love Netflix! The flexibility of the system and the variety available allows me to explore new releases and older programs I missed the first time around.

Right now, I am having a fabulously wonderful time watching the 90s sci-fi television series Babylon 5. The characters are fully fleshed-out, the plots intricate and allegorical, and the visions rough and dark. It’s the type of series a true science fiction lover yearns to see again.

Previously, I watched the entire Farscape series, another fun sci-fi program of the past. If you enjoy fun-loving, free-wheeling, fantastic plots, give it a try.

3 thoughts on “Embracing my Inner Geek

  1. trinak

    Hee! I’m a big fan of both those shows. And if you like them, try Firefly. This–fully fleshed-out, the plots intricate and allegorical, and the visions rough and dark applies equally well to that show.

    Trina

    Reply
  2. jtspencer

    I remember reading “Orphans of the Sky” when I was in 8th Grade. It made me want to read science fiction. Yet, whenver I watched a Sci Fi movie they always missed the point. Good science fiction is social commentary mixed with mythology. It’s “Brave New World” and the creation of an Amusement State saturated with shallowness.

    I’m with you on Babylon 5. I watched it in high school because it was different from any other sci fi series I had seen.

    Reply
  3. drpezz Post author

    Trinak,

    I loved Firefly and Serenity. I bought the series because I enjoyed it so much and watched them all this summer during by layovers to and from DC. It was great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

