Argumentation and the School

I may have created a monster…well, maybe 95 of them. I gave my students the assignment of choosing a school issue and then use the rhetorical triangle to organize their ideas. They loved it!

Now they want to flood the administration with their proposals, and I am proud to admit that some of them are quite good. Woe to the administrators when they get these kids flooding their mail boxes and offices.

What a great few days!

One thought on “Argumentation and the School

  1. Mrs. Chili

    Wow! I don’t do argument until much later in the year! We’re still working on “topic, purpose, audience.” I have to tell you, though, how much I LOVE argument, though; watching them learn how to take arguments apart and to organize their own ideas (and to analyze the messages we get from advertisements and politicians). These skills are profoundly empowering.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

