Curriculum Work

At last, I will be able to prepare for my classes today!

The last three weeks have been nothing but department and building issues; “putting out fires” is what I tell people I’ve been doing. We have one English position to fill, which will be filled with a substitute until the five day hiring window closes. I think all of the new teachers are feeling pretty good about the start of the year, and I’m feeling pretty good, too.

I’m going to set up my first two weeks for Survey of American Literature where we will begin Fools Crow by James Welch and read a number of Native American tales and start some colonial writings.

In Mythology I have my students begin by knowing the Olympian Household (the basic gods and goddesses on Mt. Olympus) including the Greek and Roman names, the realms, and the symbols. Then we start reading the creation story as a class since it’s about the most abstract part of the course.

In Sophomore Honors I’m starting with A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. I go through a PowerPoint with kids detailing the social, political, and economic context of the novel before reading the first chapter together. Then the students can read independently at night, and we discuss most of the period the next day. I also throw in some quick quizzes to see who read and work on our weekly vocabulary words.

I’m very much looking forward to this school year. Once all of the politics and personal issues are left in the offices, I love getting to work with the kids. It’s going to be a good year!

5 thoughts on “Curriculum Work

  1. drpezz Post author

    It’s mythology only with the end goal being that the kids locate where and determine why mythological references are used in contemporary society.

    Reply
  2. Abigail

    I am a new teacher at a high school in Las Vegas who now loves your blog!
    Thanks so much for the information.

    I’m doing an American Literature course. I found your blog when I looked up one of the works you are going to have them read this year. Any advice about teaching American Literature in the classroom?

    I myself had a horrible Am. Lit. teacher in high school (she hated the subject), but a couple of enthusiastic college professors changed my opinion.

    I am at a school with strict standards but a lax guide as far as curriculum, which is why I would envy your input.

    Your brief entries are refreshing. I look forward to reading more.

    Sincerely,
    Abigail H.
    Las Vegas Valley

    Reply
  3. drpezz Post author

    Glad to see you here, Abigail!

    Really, I don’t have any specific advice for teaching American Literature which would not be the same for any class. Relationships are the key component in the classroom. Everything for me stems from the bonds I create with students.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

