Daily Archives: July 14, 2008

Free Speech For High Schoolers

One worry I have while working in my high school is the continuing trend to silence the students. Just because the students disagree with the teachers or the administration, their rights should not be parsed and their speech silenced. An article in the Seattle-PI highlights the rights of students and the efforts to limit those rights.

The “Bong hits 4 Jesus” case scared me, not because of the message, but because this case extends the administrators’ power beyond the school and outside of school hours. While I think the message was light-hearted and harmless, it was also somewhat asinine. However, I don’t believe it warranted the consequences levied against the student and should not allow those in charge to reach outside their jurisdiction. Continue reading