What Teachers Want

Yesterday I posted about how to attract teachers to the profession. That answer was simple; however, according to studies, how to keep teachers in the profession does not necessarily center on money, and I would agree.

Numerous reports, including one given at the NEA-RA in Washington D.C. last week, stated that teachers already committed to the profession primarily wanted three things, none of which was money:

  • respect,
  • support from the administration, and
  • a collaborative and healthy working environment.

I interviewed five candidates yesterday and will interview two candidates today for three English positions at my school. When the interview team concluded the list of questions we had for the candidates, the interviewees then had an opportunity to inquire about us, the school, and the community. Every single question centered on respect, support, and collaboration.

More money may lure teachers in to the profession, but once there teachers want to be treated as professionals. It sure doesn’t seem too complicated.

2 thoughts on “What Teachers Want

  1. Mrs. Chili

    I would say that these things rank FAR above the money, but I also recognize that I’m the rare teacher who doesn’t NEED money (my husband is an engineer and his salary takes care of our needs). I’m betting, though, that even if I were someone in need of a good salary, I’d rather take less money and work in a strong and supportive environment than take the paycheck and deal with the crap…

    Reply
  2. drpezz Post author

    Absolutely!

    When I first graduated from college Microsoft was looking for English majors to edit computer programs created in other countries. Essentially, I would’ve been an editor for 10-12 hours a day (my least favorite part of teaching, by the way) but making more money than teaching. I chose a job I would enjoy, namely teaching.

    For me, being happy outranks the salary. However, if offered a raise, I’ll take it. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

