Daily Archives: March 31, 2008

They Need Support and Respect

I read this article about a teenager killed basically for being gay, and I continue to be amazed at the lack of support within schools for gay, lesbian, transgender, and bisexual students.

My school recently started a group to support all students of diversity, and I admire the leaders of this group and the students involved because my community does not readily accept people who may be different or outside the “normal” social groups.

From the article activists say:

many schools do not have programs that promote tolerance among students, provide training for educators, or include policies that specifically prohibit harassment and bullying based on sexual orientation.

I sincerely hope that schools begin to create more organizations to support all students. And, tolerance is not enough; we need to teach respect, respect for all people.