Movies at Night

I have started a bit of a tradition here at my school, where I show films related to the literature we read in class. Students must bring in a note from a parent/guardian to view the film, but the students seem to enjoy it, especially since I give a very few extra credit points for the viewings. Add extra credit to anything and students will do it!

I showed:

Chocolat for Magical Realism,
Interview with a Vampire and Dracula for Gothic Literature,
Marie Antoinette for A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens, and
A Man Called Horse for Fools Crow by James Welch (mainly for the Sun Dance).

So far the movies are a hit!

5 thoughts on “Movies at Night

  1. Mrs. Chili

    see if you can get yourself a copy of the Hallmark production of Frankenstein. It’s really the best one I’ve seen – the Kenneth Branaugh version sucked…

    Reply
  2. Hugh O'Donnell

    Wish I’d had your class in high school, Doc. But damn, you hadn’t been born yet.

    Great idea!

    Hugh aka Repairman

    Reply
  3. Clix

    Oo! I’ve been wondering about Marie Antoinette. I can’t figure ANYTHING about the movie from the previews and blerbs I’ve read except, “oo, pritty colors!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

